Kevin's Movies

The Place For Everything Movies

A Film Review: The Artist

Every so often a movie comes along that remind us why we love movies.  The Artist is that movie.

As I walked into the theatre, I began to observe the other members of the audience.  From first glance I noticed that the majority of the members had their AARP cards, while the rest would be filling out their applications any day now.  This same instance happened last year when I went to see The King’s Speech, and I turned out to be the only person in the theatre without white hair.  With the exception of viewing Firth’s performance, I am still angry that I wasted my money on that movie.  This is when I began to worry that I would be the snob who trashes the movie everyone loves, for the second year in a row.  Thank the heavens this was not the case at all.

From beginning to end, this little French film charms.  I became transfixed on the screen, and was unable to turn myself away.  This may be the result of Jean Dujardin and Bérénice Bejo’s exquisite smiles.  The two of them show off their pearly whites as they dance their way into our hearts.  No worries, the rest of the cast is just as charming with John Goodman, James Cromwell, Penelope Ann Miller, Missi Pyle, and of course, Uggie!  Also, Michel Hazanavicius deserves every ounce of respect for turning a possible gimmick film into a genuine pleasure.  Bravo!

If you are skeptical of the lack of sound, let me tell you that the music is superb and is more than enough sound. It was not even until a third of the way into the movie that I began to notice the lack of spoken dialogue, and even then I did not mind.  In fact, I actually enjoyed the silence!

The film is as old-fashioned as it gets, but that’s why it is so goddamn charming.  The story is plan and simple, with no ambiguous ending or edgy plot developments.  It is a flashback to the olden days of Hollywood, but also a reminder that Hollywood is still the place where dreams are made.

At the end of the film, something happened that I have not experienced in quite some time.  The audience began to applaud and I found myself joining in with just as much enthusiasm.  2011 may have been a weak year for movies overall, but The Artist is of a rare breed that deserves to be applauded by every one of its audience members.  It is truly something special.

Little more than a million Americans have seen this movie, but there is still plenty of time in the award’s season.  Do not let the opportunity to see this unbelievably delightful movie slip by.   If you love movies, you will adore The Artist.  It it the perfect tribute to cinema, which remind us why we love movies and why they are important.

If my review wasn’t enough to convoke you then watch this video and it should be just enough to make you go out and buy your ticket now. Watching them is pure joy!

Little side note:  In my 2011: The Best in Film post, I ranked The Descendants as the #1 movie of 2011, but now I must change that.  Without a doubt, The Artist is the best of this year as well as one of the best in years.

One comment on “A Film Review: The Artist

  1. conordcfc
    January 28, 2012

    Brilliant review, i really enjoyed the read, well done! Take a look at mine when you have the chance! Cheers: http://conordcfc.wordpress.com/2012/01/28/film-review-the-artist/

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

